trust in God

We hear about St. Faustina Kowalska when we speak of Divine Mercy Sunday. And that is as it should be. The commemoration of this feast day, (the first Sunday after Easter) along with this saint was irrevocably joined by Pope John Paul II. He did this when he proclaimed to the world, at the Mass for the canonization of St. Faustina Kowalska, that the Sunday following Easter throughout the Church will be called Divine Mercy Sunday. Why that Sunday? The Resurrection, the most glorious of all feast days, proclaimed that Jesus, the Son of God, had suffered and died for the forgiveness and salvation of mankind. In overcoming death, His divinity is proven. His love and mercy is assured to always be there for all who request it.

Faustina was born in 1905 in Glogowiec, Poland. Fifteen years earlier, in 1890 Sister. Josefa Menendez was born in Madrid, Spain. Josefa has not been declared a saint, so far, but she may very well have been the precursor to the Divine Mercy phenomenon.  Her life, in so many ways parallels that of St. Faustina. (I don’t know if these contemporaries ever even knew of the other’s existence.) But it is not this parallel that is the topic being addressed, right now. No, there is a short paragraph in “The Way of Divine Love” by Sr. Josefa that grabs at your heart immediately. Josefa has been going through many agonies and blessings. Both, of which, she is cherishing because she knows that it is God’s Will. The agonies, she endures steadfastly, but the blessings raise her spirits, her soul to such dizzying heights, she is almost giddy with joy. Within this context, we read, “On the evening of Saturday, October 16th, I asked Him why He gave me so many totally undeserved graces. During my adoration I saw Him crowned with thorns and He gave me this answer: ‘Have I asked you to merit the graces I give you? What I ask is that you should accept them’ ” -1

It is this thought each of us must wrap our arms around. Jesus asks us to accept wholeheartedly, whatever enters our life: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. Josefa asks Him, why He gives her all these blessings. Jesus doesn’t expect us to earn the right to these blessings. We cannot. He wants us to accept them. No sense of pride, that we deserve them. No sense of false humility, being glad that we got them, but professing that we are not worthy. Recognize that He, ALWAYS, gives what is best for us. We have no right to these. We didn’t’ do anything to merit them. So we extend our hand and accept them, gratefully, with humility, and above all with trust in Him.

We can understand this in the light of the good things that happen to us, but what about the minor problems, (the Bad)? What about the major problems, (the Ugly)? WE, and only we, are the ones that put the title of bad and ugly on these things that happen to us. WE don’t see God’s Purpose, His Plan. No, we see only our own inconvenience, our sadness. We see the disruption in our plans, our life and deem it to be bad or ugly. Don’t you see? The things that we call negative, or bad, in life are really events that God’s plan has laid out. They are neither good, nor bad, nor ugly. They are in fact ALL beautiful, because they come to us from our loving God. “We don’t deserve that”, we say. “This is too much to bear”. Our complaints are not valid, because we are not looking at the total picture. God… Infinite God… the Creator… the Redeemer… the Sanctifier, He is interacting with us, teaching us, challenging us, loving us. In Luke’s Gospel, we hear “And he said to his disciples, ‘Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you shall eat, nor about your body, what you shall put on. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing’ ” -2

“Oh my God, why am I so blind? Why do I see only my needs? Why can I not joyfully accept your love, no matter what form it takes? Help me. I cannot change my life, by myself, only You can help me see and understand your ways. But whether or not, I see and understand them, give me the grace to lovingly accept them. I want to be totally yours.”

-1 The Way of Divine Love, by -Sr. Josefa Menendez, FIRST STEPS October 9th–28th, 1920
-2 Luke 12:22-31
-1

The 5 Posts directly below, blend with this one. They continue the thought. Thanks for coming:

1) Accept It, He Really Does Love You!
2) Trust In God Vs Fear To Relinquish Control
3) Who Do You Trust
4) Who Or What Is God
5) Example, What is it?

