Today’s Gospel has one of the simplest and most beautiful prayers that we can utter. The Gospel is from Mark 9:14-19 and is the one about Jesus curing the boy possessed by a demon. The distraught father wants desperately for Jesus to cure his son, and literally begs Jesus to drive out the evil spirit. He tells Jesus, your disciples tried, but could not. “If you can do anything have pity on us and help us”. To which Jesus replies, “If you can! All things are possible to him who believes.” He is telling the father, it is up to you and your belief. Immediately, the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe, help my unbelief”.

The father recognizes his own failings, his shortcomings. He needs assurance that God will make everything right. On being told that all things are possible to him who believes, the man cries out, using words such as: I believe, I believe, Oh God I want to believe. Help my lack of belief. I want my son to be cured.
Doesn’t this touch all of us? Deep within us, we know our faults, our short comings, our laziness, our pride. We don’t want the evils of the world to touch us, or our families. We want to be above all of those trials. “I know”, we think, “I will pray to God and He will make everything alright.” So we hurriedly rattle off a few prayers, maybe even from the depths of our souls… and then we look around. What has happened? What has God done for us? We prayed as we are supposed to do. What happened? “Nothing???, Nothing at all???” Dejected, we shuffle off, muttering to ourselves, “There is no God”. Or “God doesn’t care about me.” We move on to our next distraction to help us forget the pain that we feel.

Jesus alerted the man, and all the generations since, that belief in Him accomplishes the miracles we desperately crave. We pray the Creed, at Mass, “I believe in…” Say that prayer. Dissect every phrase. What does it mean? What does it call from us? Do we passionately believe that God created all things? The Earth? Sun? Moon? MAN? Do we REALLY believe that Jesus is the Son of God? Do we really believe that He died and rose for all of mankind? These are not pretty phrases designed to fill a void. Our belief structure is being laid on the line. We are not saying we understand these things. But, we are saying we believe in them.

Belief is defined as the mental act, condition, or habit of placing trust or confidence in another, even when logic struggles. Trust, there’s that word again. Not my will, but Thine be done. I trust you, Lord. Yes, I trust and accept whatever you send my way, because you love me… but don’t let my house burn down… but let me be happy the rest of my life… but don’t make me give up everything I want and like. I will do your will, but not right now. This moment is for me.

These are all human exclamations. But they can be so much more. Jesus wants us to rise above ourselves. He wants us to blindly put ourselves in His hands, to trust him, and let Him raise us still higher. I believe Lord. I want to believe, Lord. Lord, help my unbelief.

You may wish to click here THE INDEX TO THE APOSTLES CREED This will branch you to a blog that was presented earlier. There you can go to any one of sixteen different topics on the Creed.

