God and Mankind

(1st in a series of a presentation on The Apostles Creed)

Looking out over my back yard, I can see my garden, trees, rooftops, the clouds in the sky. This panorama greets me every day, and I hardly take notice of the beauty. Usually, I am too busy with the “needs” of the day, to slow down and look at the beauty that God gives us on a daily basis.  If I pay closer attention, I might catch sight of a hawk or two gliding with the thermals, the constant jabber of smaller birds in the trees. Looking at my yard filled with multi colored flowers, I can see butterflies flitting from one flower to another, in search of what I don’t really know.  All of this and more exists every day for us, and it might, just might, get a casual glance from us.

We deceive ourselves very easily into thinking that this job, this project, this goal is what is necessary to make our lives complete. We allow ourselves to settle for this world’s offerings, as though they are why we are here on earth. Very early in our lives we were taught that to be happy, we must have financial security and we must satisfy our wants and needs, no matter the cost. Slowly, over our lives, these goals became paramount in our lives. So important are they that we teach them to our young, and the cycle begins anew.

IF you believe in God, then you must have thought at some time, why am I here? Why did God make me? I think it is safe to say that from God’s viewpoint, “The purpose of life, the purpose of our existence is not to gain financial freedom and not to satisfy our every want.”

My belief is that God, a loving god, could do nothing less than to share His goodness with His creations. His love demanded it. So in the creation of the world, God reveals His beauty, His artistry. Mankind was created, with the sole purpose of experiencing the goodness, the beauty, the joy of being united with their Creator. Every aspect of God’s creation has the sole objective of revealing a different part of Him.

God’s love gave us free will, too. What joy could we experience, if we were compelled to love God? The freedom of choice is the highest gift that God could give us. It elevated mankind above all of the rest of creation. Unfortunately, if we use this free will unwisely, we can forfeit our experience of the goodness, the beauty, the joy of being united with our Creator. Yet, our God saw this as the necessity it was, so that mankind could experience the dizzying heights of being united with our God, through their own choice.

We have allowed ourselves to dig the holes that we find ourselves in. As we try to emerge from these graves, we should, we must re-focus our gaze on God. He is a God of Love. He is not something, someone made up. He is not the confused ramblings of a madman. He is. He does exist. He created you for one purpose and that is to be united with Him. What is important to us, what we pursue is up to us. What is YOUR choice?   goto next segment>>

