At times, we tend to ignore the thought of Purgatory. It doesn’t seem appropriate to think of pain and suffering after death, especially since there is so much of it during life. But Purgatory does exist. This fact came home to me, loud and clear, while reading “Divine Mercy in My Soul”, the diary of St. Faustina. In it, there are very many references, not only to the existence of, but also the extent of suffering endured there. “…I asked these souls what their greatest suffering was. They answered me in one voice that their greatest torment was longing for God. I saw Our Lady visiting the souls in Purgatory”.

While reading this diary, Christ’s words and St. Faustina’s thoughts and actions, jump off the page at you. The afterlife is real. Hell is real. Purgatory is real. Christ’s love and mercy is present for each and every one of us, now. Justice will be satisfied, when the time for mercy and love has run out. I believe these statements with all my being.

How can we make use of these thoughts? What can we do to ennoble our daily actions? I humbly propose this course of action. At the start of the day, pick a loved one, a friend, an acquaintance, someone whom you knew while they lived. You are not making a judgement about that person. You are simply praying, that, “Today, Lord, any good that I do, any suffering that I endure, any prayers that I say are for this person, or group of persons,  and the relief  of some of their punishment in Purgatory”. They may not be there, but now, your suffering has a purpose. It has a face.

The kicker, for you, is at the end of the day. Think, again, of those person(s). How did you do? How did they fare? Your actions throughout the day, your sufferings that you offered up, your prayers, were they everything you wanted them to be, to help your group? Tomorrow is another day. Another face?

