Saint Therese, known as the Little Flower, is what I would call a quiet saint. There is nothing about her, that shouts at you, “Now THIS is a saint”.  She quietly went her way, doing the little things of life. She was always aware that her role in life was to be there whenever Christ needed her. It sounds strange to say that Christ needs anyone. But things still need to be done, the poor need assistance, the world needs guidance, our friends have hurts and needs, we ourselves need a shoulder to lean on. That’s where we come in. We are part of the Christian community. We belong to Christ. We are His hands, feet, and mouth. Whatever needs to be done in this world, Christ is waiting for you or me to step forward.

I didn’t always have a devotion to St. Therese. I don’t know if, even now, I have a devotion to her. I am aware of her, aware of her goodness, and aware of her intent to do things for Christ. She is for me a shining example of how our lives should be lived, should be dedicated to Him.

It was during my illness that I received the book, “The Autobiography of Saint Therese of Lisieux, The story of a Soul”.  I also received a piece of paper that had on it, the prayer of Saint Therese. It is this prayer that I want to include here for your benefit. It is this prayer that I feel, knocked me off my horse, so to speak. It woke me up.

May today there be peace within. May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith. May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be content knowing you are a child of God. Let this presence settle into your bones and allow the soul the freedom to sing and dance and praise and love. It is there for each and every one of us.

All of our anxieties of who we are, what we have become fall into a smaller  package. As we are, Christ loves us. He does not love the sin, but the sinner. He knows our faults and failings, better than we do. But where we stand today has developed from all of our past foot steps. Some were very good and… some were not. The thing is that where we are right now, is where we now work from. To look back to see how we got here is not meaningless, but really does no good. We just know that some of those steps must be totally replaced by better steps. If we look down to watch our feet, we will trip and stumble. But if we raise our gaze, and focus on Christ we will see the needs of those around us. It is at this point, the crossroads, that now becomes the salient point. What do we do, how do we act, what do we say when we see the needs around us? THAT is what will shape our foot steps of today, and will determine the path that we stand on tomorrow.

If you decide not to come back to TheSteppingStones anymore, I would feel bad, but I could understand. But I beg you, I plead with you, read the prayer of St. Therese on a daily basis. Read it to  understand its full meaning FOR YOU. I promise you, you will never be the same again. God loves you.

